Castle in the Sky


I’m sure all of us specially girls have dreamt of seeing a castle when we were a kid. Right? I’m sure of that coz I myself dreamt it as well and also I wanted to be a princess back then… lucky to those who lived in places where castles are just a stone away from their home.

And fast forward to my teenage years… exactly, a very long time ago! Haha, when I saw this Philippine local version of a castle that is situated along national road as we passed by the town of Lallo somewhere in Cagayan Province for the first time. Right at that moment, I was stars trucked! Sadly, it wasn’t part of our itinerary and I got curious since then.

And until last summer, after multiple times we passed it by whenever we go up North, my family decided to check it out, finally! What’s inside of it.. What does it looks like up close.. And so on.. So folks! Specially my readers who happened to passed it by as well and also got curious.. Here’s a sneak peak of it.




I learned that this place used to be a hotel and ceased its operation due to low customer traffic according to the girl I interviewed, the same girl who also collected our entrance fee. So after that, the owner decided to open it for visitors.

I love the place, it’s close to nature and has a good view of the mighty Cagayan River, the longest in the country.. And has a pre-Spanish era rustic vibe in it.

The restaurant beside it is still in operation though… which serves mostly local dishes and seafood!




Apparently we lucked into one of the prettiest sunsets they had there, and for someone who spends most of her time daydreaming I couldn’t have asked for a more perfect backdrop. This is basically what the inside of my head looks like! And yes, I couldn’t pass not taking OOTD here, hahaha! Castle-gasm

I’ve been in such daze thinking about the big move my blog would be doing on soon, so this beautiful Castle in the Sky was the perfect way to calm my nerves. I know I have made a big decision but I know it’s only for the better and is the best possible thing to happen for me. This was one of the most scariest/exciting things I’ve ever done so a big thank you to everyone who has shown their support, it’s so comforting to know you actually care.



My blog isn’t finished yet and my brother and I will be tweaking and adding features as the days go on, I’m still trying to wrap my head around WordPress to be honest. It seems the journey is only just beginning and I hope this is the start of bigger and better things.


Location: Castle in the Sky, Lallo, Cagayan, Philippines.




42 thoughts on “Castle in the Sky

  1. Cagayan is my home province and I never had the chance to visit this place too. Thank you for sharing Miss April. And also, its good to know that there’s someone from Cagayan who blogs. More power and keep it up!

    • Hi! thank you for stopping by Rizalyn! And you should visit this place too. Don’t miss it on your next trip to Cagayan. And you’re welcome, though I’m from Isabela, promoting our Region has always been a good thing.

  2. Castle in the Sky, there are also stores there who sell delicious Tinupig for 5 pesos each right? Its delicious.

  3. Wow!! Just wow. I live here in Cagayan but never had the chance to visit this place. Actually, I never knew about until you posted this. Thank you April!! Much love x

    • Hi Ashley!🙂 Now you know that there is a castle in the province. We don’t need to go somewhere in Europe! haha. You’re welcome and Thank you for dropping by.🙂 God Bless

    • Wow! that’s good to know! So, I guess you’ve been there? hehe. The interior was lil bit messy though, hopefully they’ll improve it more and they will also add more facilities on it. Anyway, thank you so much for dropping by.🙂

      • I totally agree! Well, there’s nothing really fancy you can find inside tbh… But I do hope the castle will improve more next time. Have goodnight Aca.😉

  4. First of all, I’m sure bigger and better things lay in wait for you! Secondly, that castle is divine, I am surprised it didnt flourish as a hotel…must have been lovely to spend some time in it though, it looks surreal!

Leave a Reply

